• Slider Image

One of the main objectives of the the Physiological Society of Nigeria at its inauguration in April 1978 was the dissemination of scientific information collated from the laboratories in the ivory tower and various research laboratories throuhout the world. The concept of an official journal for the society was initiated in 1981 at the meeting of the Society held at the University of Ibadan, Nigeria.

Towards realising the set goal, the Nigerian Journal of Physiological Sciences was established as the official journal of the society in 1982 at the meeting of the Society held at the University of Nigeria, Enugu Campus, with the election of the first editorial team, led by Prof. D.D.O. Oyebola as Editor-in-Chief.  The first issue of the Journal (Volume 1, Number 1) was released in April, 1983.

The journal is  published twice a year and attract articles from the broad areas of Physiological Sciences .

  • Former Editors
Prof. David D.O. Oyebola
Editor-in-Chief (1982 – 1988)
Prof. Anthony B. Ebeigbe
Editor-in-Chief (1988 – 2002)
Prof. Eme E. Osim
Editor-in-Chief (2002 – 2009)
Prof. A.R.A. Alada
Editor-in-Chief (2009 – 2019)
Prof. Samuel B. Olaleye
Editor-in-Chief (2019 – date)